Nooks and Crannies but No Room for Doubt

April 13, 2013 § Leave a comment

CIMG0890Sometimes you sit around and wait.

That’s what this week has been about. Sitting. Waiting. Playing phone tag. Waiting and then sitting a bit longer.

I’m an inpatient, instant gratification sort of woman and I find this slow going frustrating. Two months ago I was so filled with confidence I found no time to question anything. A Woman’s Face was going to work. A Woman’s Face was working.

Today I’m asking myself, “what happens if I fail?”

I don’t believe in the possibility of failure. But the stellar momentum that launched A Woman’s Face has slowed enough to create the nooks and crannies that doubt seeks out and fills.

The truth is, I’ve never done anything like this before. Yes, I’ve spent time working with a non-profit (The Pacific Art League). And part of that time was spent raising money. When I presided over the Board of Directors I was the creative force behind The Great Chair Exhibit, Tie One On and The Other Black and White Ball. To publicize that last event I sent fifty small rubber balls to Bay Area magazine and newspaper event calendars with a note that read: the other ball is coming. Clever.

So I can do this. I know I can do this.

And I know I’m not alone. I know there are four photographers and thirty-eight models who believe the same thing. We can do this.

Because we want every woman to be seen – really seen. And we don’t want any woman to feel alone.

And so we support the Arbor Free Clinic.

And we support the Support Network for Battered Women.

If you haven’t already volunteered your time and talent as a photographer or a model but you would like to help A Woman’s Face here’s the truth: we need money. I’ve created an account here to make it easy to donate. We need to raise money to fund the publication of our book A Woman’s Face. I’ve set our goal high (ever the optimist!) but any amount we raise will help.

Please consider checking out the indiegogo website and contributing in whatever amount.

Every dollar will go toward A Woman’s Face.

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nooks and Crannies but No Room for Doubt at A Woman's Face.

meta

